Behind the Plate Have a ruling question? Ask an umpire! Make sure to specify sanction and level of play. Softball Rules - Softball Forum

Starting with 9?


This is a discussion on Starting with 9? within the Behind the Plate forums, part of the Softball Forums category!
We played a game and the opponent started the game with 9. Around the 2nd or 3rd inning they inserted ...




Sponsored Ads
Register to remove these ads.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By elbman
  • 1 Post By defos

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: May 2015
Name: Bryon
Location: Ct
Posts: 8
Default Starting with 9?

We played a game and the opponent started the game with 9. Around the 2nd or 3rd inning they inserted a 10th guy. But, they didn't take an out in their lineup, they just added the 10th guy at the bottom of the order. How is this SUPPOSED to be handled? Or is it acceptable the way it was handled?




Bryongatchek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
defos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Name: Duane
Location: Des Moines, Ia
Posts: 572
Default

If you start with 9, you have to take an out at the end of the order, regardless of whether the 10th guy is expected. That's ASA, I don't know about the rest. When the 10th guy shows up, he can move right into the game. But you must take an out with only 9 players.
__________________
34/30 Club
defos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 03:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
OG SFZ Member
 
Stork's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Name: B
Location: CO.G.
Posts: 3,620
Default

We can start/finish with 8 or 9 without penalty. If we start with 10 and lose one, then we take the out. Doesn't happen very often.
Stork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 04:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: May 2013
Name: Justin
Location: GA
Posts: 531
Default

We can start with 9, and once you bat through the line up either you take the out, or the person can only sub in for an existing spot in the order.
defos likes this.
elbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
defos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Name: Duane
Location: Des Moines, Ia
Posts: 572
Default

Originally Posted by elbman View Post
We can start with 9, and once you bat through the line up either you take the out, or the person can only sub in for an existing spot in the order.
That's what I was trying to say. You said it much better in fewer words!
AVALANCHE#50 likes this.
__________________
34/30 Club
defos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
OG SFZ Member
 
NCASAUmp's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Name: Blue
Location: NC
Posts: 1,143
Default

It's going to depend upon what your local rules say. Many local leagues have rules that preempt specific rules specified in the book, and I've seen plenty of leagues that remove the automatic out when playing short handed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!
Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!
"I've always found the best umpires to be fans and players....they just dont have the balls to come out and prove it."

Got a rule question? Ask it here!

In MY bag: 4 indicators, 4 brushes, 10 Bat Rings, 2 Flipping Coins, 2 pens, 2 pencils, 1 tub of gum.

Just opened a new forum exclusively for softball umpires! Come visit here.
NCASAUmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 AM.