ASA Amateur Softball Association

Home run question


This is a discussion on Home run question within the ASA forums, part of the Softball Associations category!
I play a bar league on Sundays and we had play that a batter was called out by the ump ...




Sponsored Ads
Register to remove these ads.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By defos

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2016, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Name: Robert
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1
Default Home run question

I play a bar league on Sundays and we had play that a batter was called out by the ump and wanted some clarification. The batter hit a ball to center field. As The ball was going over the fence, The outfielder tried to make a catch and jumped and it hit his glove and the ball rolled off his glove and hit the top of the fence. It bounced back up and while the fielder was falling over the fence he caught the ball and fell out of play. The ump called the batter out and didn't award any base runners already on bases any extra bases. Some of the guys thought it either should have been a double and some thought the batter should have been awarded four bases but not a home run. And a few thought it should have been a home run. The fielder never made contact with the ground once he jumped to catch the ball until he hit the ground out of play. But he did have the ball safely in his glove before landing on the ground out of play.




Softballrookie1257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 02:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
defos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Name: Duane
Location: Des Moines, Ia
Posts: 572
Default

4 base hit, no one's out. Ball hit both glove and fence before going over, so it's a 4 base hit and not counted as a home run. Since it hit the fence, it can't be a catch, so no out.
oppo likes this.
__________________
34/30 Club
defos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Star Player
 
oppo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Name: Me
Location: Tx
Posts: 8,427
Default

Originally Posted by defos View Post
4 base hit, no one's out. Ball hit both glove and fence before going over, so it's a 4 base hit and not counted as a home run. Since it hit the fence, it can't be a catch, so no out.
This
__________________
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
- Benjamin Franklin

" Among the many misdeeds of the British rule in India, history will look upon the act depriving a whole nation of arms as the blackest"
-Mahatma Ghandi
oppo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34 PM.