Newbie Softball DiscussionZ New to SFZ? Introductions and Newbie Discussions. There is no such thing as a stupid question in this forum.

New pitcher needs safety advice

This is a discussion on New pitcher needs safety advice within the Newbie Softball DiscussionZ forums, part of the Softball Forum category!
I drew the short straw to be pitcher and I've never done it before. I've been practicing and I feel ...

Sponsored Ads
Register to remove these ads.

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Name: Ed
Default New pitcher needs safety advice

I drew the short straw to be pitcher and I've never done it before. I've been practicing and I feel good about throwing strikes now. Any tips on not getting my head knocked off?

"Yeah, well, Joe Pepitone or not, I own the inside of that plate! So I throw one inside, a little chin music... put him right on his pants, because I got to intimidate when I'm on the mound. Well, the next pitch, he's right back in the same place! So.... I had to plunk him."
JimmyLegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
On The Team

Name: CB

Yep. Be aware is the main thing. I toss the ball & move to the far back left/right of the circle. If you’re really concerned they make face masks & shin guards for slow pitch pitchers.
oppo likes this.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Star Player

Name: Me

The main reason most people get hurt is getting too relaxed. Have your glove ready and expect every single pitch to be coming at you. If you feel you like some protection, shinguards annd a Worth pitching helmet will take good care of you.

" Among the many misdeeds of the British rule in India, history will look upon the act depriving a whole nation of arms as the blackest"
-Mahatma Ghandi
oppo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Star Player

Name: Tom