General Slowpitch Softball Forum Discuss slowpitch topics that don't fit in to other categories here!

question


This is a discussion on question within the General Slowpitch Softball Forum forums, part of the Softball Forums category!
if you have one foot in the batters box and one foot out of the batters box while making contact ...




Sponsored Ads
Register to remove these ads.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Tricep10's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 80
Default question

if you have one foot in the batters box and one foot out of the batters box while making contact is that an out in usssa? i know it is an out in asa. I like to stand way up in front of the batters box and an ump called me out when i stepped out.




Tricep10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Leading Off
 
binger19's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Name: Mike
Location: Long island
Posts: 4,863
Default

If it is a rule, it's never enforced.
__________________
www.bingersoftball.net
binger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Star Player
 
n8ss03's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Name: Nate
Location: Milford PA
Posts: 7,250
Default

it is a rule both feet are to be in the box. however if the front line is gone....
n8ss03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Name: Tom
Location: Brookhaven, NY
Posts: 12,434
Default

It is sometimes enforced
Tom29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 02:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
SFZ Addict
 
The Crimedog's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Name: Devin
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 10,293
Default

Originally Posted by binger19
If it is a rule, it's never enforced.
Originally Posted by Tom29
It is sometimes enforced
It's one of the "toughest" rules to enforce, allegedly.

I think it's BS. You know where the damn box is ump, when a guy is standing damn near in the on deck area he cannot possibly be in the box.
__________________
"This is the instructional video, that gets results!"

In My Bag
The Crimedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Leading Off
 
binger19's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Name: Mike
Location: Long island
Posts: 4,863
Default

Originally Posted by Tom29
It is sometimes enforced
I've never seen it called. Just stepping in front of the plate.

Scroll through GRN and Islands pics on facebook and you'll see TONS of pics showing that!
__________________
www.bingersoftball.net
binger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Name: Dan
Location: Berlin, ct
Posts: 419
Default

just read it in the usssa handbook, interesting, batters box should be 3 ft forward rom the center corner of the plate and 2.5 ft back from the center corner of the plate.
The paralell sides of the plate are 8.5 inches long. So from the very front of the plate you have a little over 2 ft, and you can step on that line.

I've seen it called for stepping over or on home plate but never too far up in the box. If you are hitting over 2 ft in front of home plate you should be out, that being said, I doubt anybody has the rule book open when they are making the batters boxes.
punchtheclown18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
beaver's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Name: Sean
Location: berlin, CT
Posts: 110
Default

Holy shit Arnie, I mean Silv. did u bust out a u trip rule book @ almost midnight for a message board? remind me to kick u in the twat saturday. haha
beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Name: Lance
Location: Alabama
Posts: 36
Default

Yes it's a rule, but 99% of the umps don't call it because most of the batter's boxes are not regulation. Most are too small. Out of habit I usually rub out the front line of the batter's box before I bat, so there is no box.
Big O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 09:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
On The Team

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,213
Default

Originally Posted by Big O
Yes it's a rule, but 99% of the umps don't call it because most of the batter's boxes are not regulation. Most are too small. Out of habit I usually rub out the front line of the batter's box before I bat, so there is no box.
One of the reasons players think there is no box in USSSA is because u do not have to be in the box for a pitch delivered. Stepping out of the box between pitches does not guarantee time out from the umpire. You do whoever have to have part of both feet in the box and not making contact with the plate when making contact with any hit ball. And any ump who says they can't watch that is full of shit. You may miss it the first time but if you are laying attention for it, it's not that difficult.
Starwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 AM.